The John W. Goldschmidt Award

This award should be given to an individual who reflects the attributes of Dr. John W. Goldschmidt in terms of voluntary and tireless efforts, enhancement of interdisciplinary multi-specialty team development and approach to patient care, the advancement of facility to care for individuals with physical disabilities as well as intellectual, emotional and academic commitment to the precepts and the intimate intricacies of rehabilitation as a specialty field. Each of these actions must also be performed to the highest professional and ethical standards which emulate the man for which this award has been named.

Awardees Include:

  • 2017 - Randall L. Braddom, MD, MS, FAAPMR 
  • 2016 - Barbara Bregman, PT, PhD
  • 2015 -  Paul F. Pasquina, MD
  • 2014 - Alexander Dromerick, MD
  • 2013 - Bruce Gans, MD
  • 2012 - Kristjian T. Ragnarsson, MD
  • 2011 - John N. Aseff, MD
  • 2010 - Brendan Conroy, MD
  • 2009 - Alan M. Jette, PT, PhD, FAPTA


Susan Carter Lectureship

The endowment for the Susan Carter Lectureship comes from the generous contributions of Susan A. Carter’s family and friends. Carter, a former MedStar NRH polio patient, the lecture series created in her name underwrites the annual lecture series where recognized rehabilitation researchers and physicians provide professionals and consumers with the latest information about Post-Polio and related rehabilitation issues.

Previous Visiting Scholars Include:

  • 2016 - Suzanne Groah, MD
  • 2014 - Gary Ulicny, PhD
  • 2013 - Paul R. Rao, PhD, FACHE
  • 2012 - Lauro S. Halsted, MD, MPH
  • 2011 - W. Dalton Dietrich, III, PhD
  • 2010 - David Cifu, MD